Long-time Diabetes Center Associates among UCSF's Newest Institute of Medicine members

Last fall, three UCSF professors who are long-time associates of the Diabetes Center both received one of the nation's highest honors in the fields of medicine and health. On Oct. 18, 2004, Fred Cohen, MD, DPhil, Professor of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology and Arthur Weiss, MD, PhD, Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Rheumatology were elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies.

Shaun R. Coughlin, MD, PhD, a member of the UCSF Diabetes and Endocrinology Research Center (DRC) was also elected to the IOM last fall. Dr. Coughlin is Director of the Cardiovascular Research Institute and Professor of Medicine and of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology .

The Institute of Medicine serves as adviser to the nation to improve health.  As an independent, scientific adviser, the Institute of Medicine strives to provide advice that is unbiased, based on evidence, and grounded in science.

Election to the Institute of Medicine recognizes major contributions to medical sciences, health care and public health. Dr. Cohen was instrumental in launching the Diabetes Center at UCSF, and recruiting Dr. Jeffrey Bluestone as its current Director. Dr. Arthur Weiss is an important collaborator with numerous Diabetes Center faculty.

Three other UCSF faculty were elected to the IOM this past fall

  • Philip D. Darney, MD, MSc, professor of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences at UCSF, chief of obstetrics and gynecology at San Francisco General Hospital Medical Center (SFGHMC) and director of the Center for Reproductive Health Research & Policy.
  • Talmadge E. King, Jr., MD, Constance B. Wofsy Distinguished Professor and vice chairman of medicine, UCSF and chief of medical services at SFGHMC.
  • Nancy S. Padian, PhD, professor of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences, director of international research for the AIDS Research Institute and associate director of research for Global Health Sciences, UCSF.


Congratulations to Drs. Cohen and Weiss and colleagues on this prestigious honor, from your friends at the Diabetes Center!